Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

An international bestseller published in over thirty countries, this riveting sci-fi dystopic thriller is "a bona fide page-turner." —MTV.com

Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie.
Callie's only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man. He hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders—seniors who want to be young again. Callie, desperate for the money that will keep her, Tyler, and Michael alive, agrees to be a donor. But the neurochip they place in Callie's head malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her renter.
Callie soon discovers that her renter intends to do more than party—and that Prime Destinations' plans are more evil than she could ever have imagined. . . .
Includes Portrait of a Spore, a never-before-published short story that takes place in the world of STARTERS.
Praise for STARTERS:
"A smart, swift, inventive, altogether gripping story." —#1 New York Times bestselling author DEAN KOONTZ

"Compelling, pulse-pounding, exciting . . . Don't miss it!" —New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr
"Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best." —Los Angeles Times

"Intriguing, thought-provoking and addictive." —BookReporter.com

"Readers will stay hooked. . . . Constantly rising stakes keep this debut intense." —Kirkus Reviews

"Fast-paced dystopian fiction. . . . The inevitable sequel can't appear soon enough." —Booklist

"Intriguing, fast-paced . . . Fans of dystopian novels will be completely engaged and clamoring for the sequel." School Library Journal
"Addictive and alluring." —Examiner.com

"Chilling and riveting." —Shelf-Awareness.com

"A must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and Legend. Fast-paced, romantic, and thought-provoking."Justine


Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: March 13, 2012

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780307975232
  • Release date: March 13, 2012

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780307975232
  • File size: 2744 KB
  • Release date: March 13, 2012


Loading
Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:3.9
Interest Level:6-12(MG+)
Text Difficulty:2-3

An international bestseller published in over thirty countries, this riveting sci-fi dystopic thriller is "a bona fide page-turner." —MTV.com

Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie.
Callie's only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man. He hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders—seniors who want to be young again. Callie, desperate for the money that will keep her, Tyler, and Michael alive, agrees to be a donor. But the neurochip they place in Callie's head malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her renter.
Callie soon discovers that her renter intends to do more than party—and that Prime Destinations' plans are more evil than she could ever have imagined. . . .
Includes Portrait of a Spore, a never-before-published short story that takes place in the world of STARTERS.
Praise for STARTERS:
"A smart, swift, inventive, altogether gripping story." —#1 New York Times bestselling author DEAN KOONTZ

"Compelling, pulse-pounding, exciting . . . Don't miss it!" —New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr
"Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best." —Los Angeles Times

"Intriguing, thought-provoking and addictive." —BookReporter.com

"Readers will stay hooked. . . . Constantly rising stakes keep this debut intense." —Kirkus Reviews

"Fast-paced dystopian fiction. . . . The inevitable sequel can't appear soon enough." —Booklist

"Intriguing, fast-paced . . . Fans of dystopian novels will be completely engaged and clamoring for the sequel." School Library Journal
"Addictive and alluring." —Examiner.com

"Chilling and riveting." —Shelf-Awareness.com

"A must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and Legend. Fast-paced, romantic, and thought-provoking."Justine


Expand title description text